Skip to content

Niagara police board elects new chair

Jen Lawson takes over the position from Port Colborne Mayor Bill Steele
20220404 Niagara Regional Police cruiser

Ms. Jen Lawson is a provincial appointee and was elected to serve as Chair of the Regional Municipality of Niagara Police Services Board by the members of the Board at its meeting held on Jan. 26, 2023, replacing Regional Councillor and Mayor of Port Colborne Bill Steele, who had served in that position for the past two years. Mr. Dave Eke was re-elected as Vice-Chair for a third term. 

To read the Board Members bios click on their name below.

Jen Lawson
 “I’m honoured to have been elected Chair by the members of the Board.  I thank them for their support, and I look forward to working with our Board members, Chief Bryan MacCulloch, and the entire police service to ensure we have a safe and healthy community,” says Chair Lawson. “Strengthening accountability and transparency, as well as continuing our ongoing governance work and engagement with the Service and community members will continue to be a key priority for the Board in 2023. Together, with Chief MacCulloch and his team, we will develop pro-active solutions that will improve policing services, prevent crime and enhance safety, security and quality of life for all citizens in Niagara Region."

Dave Eke
“I am pleased to be re-elected as Vice-Chair and I look forward to the continued success of our Board team collaborating on key matters of policy and community safety that are important to the Board and Police Service,” says Vice-Chair Eke. “We have a knowledgeable and committed group and I look forward to continuing to work with the Board and the police service on meeting our goals and objectives.”

The Regional Municipality of Niagara Police Services Board is the civilian body governing the Niagara Regional Police Service and is comprised of seven members. By statute, three are members of the Regional Council of Niagara, three are citizens of Niagara appointed by the provincial government, and one member is a citizen appointment made by the Regional Council of Niagara.  It is responsible for the provision of adequate and effective police services for 12 municipalities, totaling some 450,000 residents and an estimated 15,000,000 visitors annually.